Positive Reviews for Tom Hank’s Broadway Debut in Nora Efron’s LUCKY GUY

As expected, positive reviews have been coming in this week from various media and theatrical review outlets for “Lucky Guy” the Broadway production created by the late three-time Academy Award nominee Nora Ephron and it seems like New York has itself a hit. This entertaining show tips its hat to the life and times of the newspaper business of the 1980’s and 90’s. Told thru characters portrayed as print editors and reporters, the play is a fun flashback to the hustle and bustle of the tabloid jounalism days, pre-Internet. Heading up the actors in his dramatic Broadway debut is two-time Academy Award® winner Tom Hanks (aka the “lucky guy”) Mike McAlary. From his sensational reporting of New York’s major police corruption to the libel suit that nearly ended his career, “Lucky Guy” dramatizes the story of McAlary’s meteoric rise, fall and rise again, ending with his coverage of the Abner Louima case for which he won the Pulitzer Prize, shortly before his untimely death on Christmas Day, 1998. One of the Broadway season’s most highly anticipated plays, it opened last night and has a limited run at New York’s Broadhurst Theatre. “Lucky Guy” is Directed by two-time Tony Award® winner George C. Wolfe. Click below for extended cast and ticket information


Tom Hanks is the Lucky Guy

Tom Hanks is the Lucky Guy


Whatever’s happening, you go and get it, and write it, and millions of people read it. And then you get to sit down in the bar and tell everyone the stuff that the lawyers didn’t let you put in the paper. And, most important of all, the next day you get to go out and do it all over again, except everything is new.” –Mike McAlary in Nora Ephron’s LUCKY GUY


Lucky Guy Cast Members:

Tom Hanks as charismatic and controversial tabloid columnist Mike McAlary; Maura Tierney as Alice McAlary; Christopher McDonald as lawyer Eddie Hayes; Peter Gerety as editor John Cotter; Courtney B. Vance as editor Hap Hairston;  Peter Scolari as columnist Michael Daly and Richard Masur as editors Jerry Nachman and Stanley Joyce; with Brian Dykstra as policeman Brian O’Regan; Michael Gaston as columnist Jim Dwyer; Dustyn Gulledge as Dino Tortoricci;Deirdre Lovejoy as reporter Louise Imerman and editor Debby Krenek; Danny Mastrogiorgio as reporter Bob Drury and Stephen Tyrone Williams as Abner Louima.  The production also features Paula Jon De Rose, Joe Forbrich, Thomas Michael Hammond and Marc Damon Johnson.


The Broadway cast of Nora Ephron's "Lucky Guy"

The Broadway cast of Nora Ephron’s “Lucky Guy”


Lucky Guy Creative Team

Author: Nora Ephron
Director: George C Wolfe
Producer: Lucky Guy Broadway LLC

Tickets are available online at Telecharge.com and by calling Telecharge.com 212-239-6200.


You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress